Under 21 | License Points | Georgia

UNDER 21 LICENSE SUSPENSIONIn Georgia driver who are under 21 years old must comply with a different set of rules and regulations governing their ability to drive. Many violations or actions which would not cause a license suspension in a driver who is over 21 years of age, will in fact cause a 6 month or longer suspension for a driver who is under the age of 21.

In Georgia, the driver’s license of any person under 21 years of age convicted of any of the following offenses shall be SUSPENDED Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident.

Racing on highways or streets.

Using a motor vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude an officer.

Reckless driving.

Any offense for which four or more points are assessable.

Unlawful passing of a school bus.

Improper passing on a hill or curve.

Exceeding the speed limit by 24 miles per hour or more.

Purchasing an alcoholic beverage.

Driving under the Influence.

Aggressive Driving.

Misrepresenting age for purpose of illegally obtaining any alcoholic beverage. Misrepresenting identity, using false identification to purchase or obtain any alcoholic beverage.

Finally, please note that any person under 18 years of age who has accumulated a violation point count of four or more points within any 12- month period will receive a license suspension.


Georgia uses a system in which a point value is assigned to moving violations and the violation of traffic laws. After any person accumulates a total point count of 15 or more points in any consecutive 24-month period their license will be suspended. Below is a list of each moving violation or traffic law and the point total for each violation.

Georgia Code for traffic violations sets the assessed points for each driving offense as follows:

Aggressive driving 6 points

Reckless driving 4 points

Unlawful passing of a school bus 6 points

Improper passing on a hill or a curve 4 points

Speeding, 14 MPH over 2 Points Speeding, 19 MPH over 3 Points Speeding, 24 MPH over 4 Points Speeding, 34 MPH over 6 Points

Disobedience of any traffic-control device or traffic officer 3 Points

Too fast for conditions 0 points

Possessing an open container of an alcoholic beverage, while driving 2 Points

Failure to adequately secure a load 2 points Violation of child safety restraint requirements, 1st 1 point

Violation of child safety restraint requirements, 2nd + 2 points

All other moving traffic violations which are not speed limit violations 3 Points

#under21 #license #lawyer #ellijay #ga #driving #points

Recent Posts



Translate »